Soil and Water Conservation District

Rain Garden
Jernigan House - Ahoskie
Grant Assistance
Tobacco Trust Fund
Poultry Mortality Gasifier
Hertford County, NC
Rain Garden Installation
Chowan University
Completed Rain Garden
Chowan University
Fence and Pasture Management
Como, NC
Conservation Irrigation
Drop nozzle irrigation at Newsome Farms
Environmental Field Day
J. L. Storey Farms
Conservation Tillage
No-till peanuts

The mission of the Hertford Soil & Water Conservation District continues to be the promotion of the very best use and management of our natural resources, in such a manner that it will ensure a high quality environment and rewarding economic opportunities for the citizens of Hertford County.  The Board of Supervisors is constantly aware that in order to achieve our mission, it requires the cooperation of many agencies, groups, and individuals within the District and surrounding communities.

The Hertford Soil and Water Conservation District works with the natural resources conservation service and other agencies to assist and educate land users in proper care and use of land as it relates to soil and water conservation.  We provide these services to land owners, farmers, homeowners, developers, units of government and others. 

The District is a governmental subdivision of the State; a public body corporate and politic organized in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 139 of the General Statutes of North Carolina and is subject to the powers and restrictions as set forth in G. S. 139. Under this law the District has the responsibility of conserving soil, water, and related natural resources within the District boundary. The District board is made up of five supervisors:



  • John David Simons, Chairman (Murfreesboro) - Elected
  • James W. Mason, Vice Chairman (Harrellsville) - Elected
  • Stuart Pate Pierce (Ahoskie) - Elected
  • Samuel B. Howell, Secretary/Treasurer (Como) – Appointed
  • Jack Clinton Brinkley (Aulander) – Appointed

Meeting Information

Hertford Soil and Water Conservation District Board meets every month.  The meeting is scheduled for the 3rd Tuesday.  Exceptions:  May & October, the board does not meet; 

June - The board meets in the field to conduct spot checks on the NC Agricultural Cost Share Program and the Community Conservation Assistance Program.


Contact Information

Eric Parker, Soil Conservation Technician

Brian Saunders, District Conservationist

Dottie Roberson - Administrative Assistant


Office Hours : Monday - Friday 8:00a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Telephone: (252) 358-7846

Fax: (252) 358-7839

Physical Address:

305 West Tryon Street

Winton, North Carolina  27986


Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 265

Winton, NC 27986