Wednesday, July 23rd, 2014

Tax Collector

The Tax Collector’s Department collects taxes on all real and personal property in Hertford County. In addition, the Tax Collector collects taxes for the Towns of Ahoskie, Harrellsville, Cofield, Como, Murfreesboro, and Winton, two drainage districts, three fire districts and solid waste fees.

The Hertford County Tax Collector’s Office is responsible for collecting all current and delinquent taxes on real and personal properties, any other fees or assessments as charged by the governing body and collection of motor vehicle taxes within Hertford County. The Tax Collector’s Office also collects property taxes levied by the towns of Ahoskie, Cofield, Como, Harrellsville, Murfreesboro and Winton, fire districts and special districts. In accordance with North Carolina General Statutes the Tax Collector is given authority to use all remedies to collect delinquent taxes including garnishment of wages, bank accounts, rents, and foreclosure.



To Pay Your Tax Bill By Phone dial 1-888-520-8728

 Pay Tax Bill Online

*New* Vehicle Tag and Tax System
    Payment Plan Option
  2013 Unpaid Tax Liens
County Owned Property
Property Tax Foreclosure Information
Mortgage Escrow Accounts
Frequently Asked Questions  

Contact Information

Office Hours: Monday – Friday; 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.     

Gay Sumner – Tax Collector

Tammy Eason – Deputy Tax Collector

Rebecca Davidson – Tax Clerk

April Brooks – Tax Clerk

Katherine Evans – Tax Clerk

Office Telephone:(252)358-7815

Fax:(252) 358-7806


P.O. Box 147

704 North King Street

Winton, N.C. 27986